Remembering my mom

Eighteen years ago, May 23, 1990, my mom died following a tragic scuba diving accident two months prior. For me, now being 36, I have lived as many years without my mother as I did with her. I never thought I would get to this point. It seemed unthinkable so many years ago, and yet the day has arrived. What can I do on a day like today? Pray for strength and peace, remember, blog. 😉 My extended family is no closer than 1200 miles away and as many as 3000. It’s weird, everyone deals with this loss in different ways. Being the eldest and only daughter made my relationship with her different than either of my brothers. We were certainly three individuals! I was getting ready to launch from the nest; she had no idea how we would afford my college choice of SPU. She never would have guessed that grants would be offered me because of her own death. (And yes, I loved my years at SPU.) This day is always extremely hard for my grandma, and I can’t wait until I get to squeeze her personally when we travel to Missouri this summer (road trip!).

Sharing my mom with the kids

Taken at Mom’s grave on her birthday, September 5, 2005

I looked for the newspaper articles written about her diving accident (at Keystone, resulting in her being comatose for two months before her eventual death), but was unable to find them. I love them because they highlight the best things of her – you know, kids aren’t always the best at appreciating their parents… As a nurse, she managed several community-based programs thru St. Joseph’s Hospital in Bellingham for both kids and seniors, and was well-loved by many in the community. She was a great mom who overcame difficulties, found Christ as her personal savior just months before she died, a wonderful friend, and I often wonder what kind of grandmother she would have been – one of the best, I’m sure.

I miss you, Mom.

Leave a Reply

