Neck pillow sewing project

 

Ashley\'s 1st sewing project

Having read somewhere along the way that neck pillows can be a helpful thing to have on a roadtrip, the creative juices started flowing and before long the girls and I were busy at the project. A quick search on the internet yielded several patterns, the need to be thrifty reminded me of the box of fabric in the garage (for that day down the road when I learn to quilt – it’s all kinds of fabric scraps from my married life), and then we were ready to pin and cut.

It was interesting to me that I’d never taught Ashley to sew… but Willie reminded me that though I sewed FOR her when she was younger, by the time she was old enough to learn I had pretty much stopped sewing (3 kids, including Jordan, was a little crazy). So, she had to learn everything from pinning to feeding fabric into the machine so it would stitch on a curve. She did great; even learned that boo-boos in the seam allowance are easy to fix!

 Finished pillows

Fabrics included:

Bekah: squares, originally used as gifts of dresses for girls within our church (1996?); Ashley: blue & white pattern, originally used as curtains in one of our first homes (1993?); Willie: fish (of course!), originally valances for a den area in one of our first homes (also ’93ish); Jordan: blue and gold stars, from curtains in his first bedroom (1998); Steph: pink floral, from a dress I made for Ashley (1997).

My worst fear is that one of the seams will give out and we’ll have a car-full of rice and beans!! We did figure out that they can be heated in the microwave though, so that’s pretty neat.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rene'
    Jun 08, 2008 @ 23:02:58

    Those are fabulous!

    Reply

  2. Nancy Doerr
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 21:06:35

    Did you find a free pattern? Or did you have to pay for it? My husband and I are interested in making these and taking them out to DFW to give to the soldiers as they arrive from the war zone for their R and R. Any help with acquiring a pattern would be very much appreciated.

    Thank you so much.

    Blessings to you and yours,

    Nancy

    Reply

  3. Buy Sewing Supplies
    May 17, 2009 @ 02:12:21

    I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

