Midwest trip: June 23, Day 5

Bodger & Crabtree kids at KC's Power & Light District

Bodger & Crabtree kids at KC's Power & Light District

Day One at the Crabtree’s home in Parkville, just outside of Kansas City, and decisions must be made as to what activity we’ll do for the day. We settled on “Steamboat Arabia Museum”, a museum dedicated to displaying the artifacts found on a submerged steamboat which sank in 1856. From a postcard: “The boat, loaded with over 200 tons of frontier cargo sank suddenly in the Missouri River in 1856 after striking a submerged tree. All 130 passengers survived. The largest pre-Civil War artifact collection in the world has been preserved and is on display” at the Museum in Kansas City. 

Realizing that the Missouri River appeared to have changed courses, four regular guys from 2 families got an inkling that a steamboat may be underground in a corn field several miles off the current path of the Missouri River. They found, 45′ down, the Steamboat Arabia in amazing condition.

My favorite artifacts

My favorite artifacts

Beautiful china

Beautiful china

Clothing was also preserved
Clothing was also preserved

A movie about the find and excavation is included in the tour and is quite fascinating. Following the film, one of the actual discoverers, David Hawley, was available to answer questions. So cool! He, his brother, and father still run a local refrigeration business – it pays the bills! 

Football at the park

Football at the park

Soccer, anyone?

Soccer, anyone?

Soccer in the field

Soccer in the field

 

 

 

 

 

 Prior to the museum, we played soccer at a local park and I had the distinct pleasure of breaking my only pair of flip flops! The soccer game was fun, but walking through downtown KC with only one shoe was quite challenging – and shoe shops don’t seem to be a specialty in that area. We had lunch in the power and light district where David Cook performed his American Idol hometown visit concert- we’d seen it on TV, so that was pretty cool to recognize it and realize it was what we thought it was.

Later in the day we went to get ice cream and replace my shoes at Via Rosa (similar to Redmond Town Center around here), where we also got to play at the sprinkler park on a perfect summer day!
Free-for-all at the fountain

Free-for-all at the fountain

Mom and Jordan play in the water

Mom and Jordan play in the water

Fun at the water park

Fun at the water park

 
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. James
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 14:46:09

    hey there,

    This is your cousin, second cousin, mom’s cousin, whatever the relation is.

    My mom gave me the link to your blog, so I thought I’d pop in and say hello. Looks like a fun trip!

    How will you ever catch up with the present time?

    Reply

  2. Michael James Bodger
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 11:05:30

    I am troling the web looking for relatives, lost and unknown, I think you come into that category. Anyway I just thought I would let you know that there seems to be a lot more of us than I at first thought. I know way back in the 1800s a member of my family went of to the Klondyke looking for the gold in “them thar hills” maybe your related
    to that Bodger! I dont know. Drop me an e mail and let me have a very brief family history if you know it. I know for a fact that my ancestry is Scottish, but the family went several different ways over a period of time and even part of the family went from Mouseholes in Cornwall (pronounced muzzles”)to Australia.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

