Kids do the darndest things

Do you have any childhood memories of doing something just to see if it’d work? I do! In my childhood home we had wrought iron along our staircase and who couldn’t resist seeing if their head fit through there? Apparently plenty of people can, but not me.

Well, Willie apparently doesn’t have this trait, so Bekah must have inherited it from me. We were reading the other night and ever so quietly she stuffed her finger in a little air rocket launcher and it wasn’t until we went to tuck her in that she disclosed the launcher attached to her finger. We started tugging, she started crying, it clearly started swelling, and then what?!

We realized it needed to be cut off – the toy, not the finger (we had to reassure her). Willie went down to get some tools, while I ran to get the camera. I could not resist taking some photos of this moment that would surely one day be funny to her (it was already very funny to Willie, Ashley and me).

So mad I was taking this picture!!
So mad I was taking this picture!!

 How do you go about solving a problem like this?

Is it possible to do without destroying the toy?

We tried to crack the plastic where her finger was so we could loosen it, but this method did not go over well.

Ended up estimating where the tip of her finger was and cutting the majority of the toy away, then Willie was able to crack the rest of it off with pliers.

That poor finger would never have slid out – no matter how much ice we applied.

The amazing thing? The toy still worked!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aubrey Cranson
    Sep 07, 2008 @ 19:35:35

    Genna said she’s very happy Bekah didn’t have to get her finger cut off, and she hopes it doesn’t still hurt, but if it does that she’ll feel better soon. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Rene'
    Sep 08, 2008 @ 21:16:01

    Oh my! I should have read first. I was so nervous looking at the photos! I am glad it all turned out well for the toy and especially for Bekah! ;o)

    Reply

  3. sbodger
    Sep 08, 2008 @ 22:02:39

    Bekah says “It’s all healed” and thanks to Genna!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

