Sleep Study

How are they really supposed to assess your sleep like THIS?

How are they really supposed to assess your sleep when you're hook up like THIS?

Jordan had his sleep study on October 13th. We got a call just before 8PM and as soon as the phone rang and I heard the “Hello, this is…” I knew we were heading in for little sleep.

I called my friend and regretably canceled my movie night with her, we threw some items in bags and hit the soaking wet roads. About 15 minutes into our drive, Jordan asks, “Mom, where’s Racky?” Oh, you’ve got to be kidding, I thought. Racky is Jordan’s one and only stuffed animal that he cares about. It is a stuffed animal, and although I brought movies, video games, and books, the tears flowed when I said I didn’t have Racky.

Nearest off-ramp here I come. Called Willie and he found the little critter down behind Jordan’s bed and hit the road. We’d meet half-way which would only make us 25 minutes late instead of over 30. Jordan and I reached the predetermined parking lot and waited in the car while the rain pounded on the roof. Within a couple minutes, Willie was pulling up the drive. I rolled down my window, waved, and he pulled right up next to us. We received the goods, hollered “thanks” and “bye” and were on our way. Racky was amazingly wet for only being passed out the window!

We finally made it to the sleep center and to our little room. The picture of the bed Jordan is in is the one he requested that I sleep in with him – ugh! Really? Not that the sleeper chair looked a whole lot more comfy, but at least I had my own space. Oh well, ‘whatever you want, Honey’.

Once he had some of his probes on we snuggled and watched a movie together for a while.

Once he had some of his probes on we snuggled and watched a movie together for a while.

Lights went out just after 11:00, Jordan was finally asleep at about 11:45, the technician came in several times in the night to adjust loose probes, and it was ‘morning’ at 5:45. Yuck!

I was told that if there was anything significant on the study, I’d be contacted during the next week. Otherwise, the test took 3-4 weeks to be read. Each 30 second period was evaluated!

After that, I tried for weeks to get an appointment scheduled with one of the residents that cared for Jordan way back in 1998. He is now a very popular pulmonologist at Children’s, and didn’t have openings for 3 months. He tried to fit us in,  but wasn’t getting anywhere. An entire month passed, and I emailed this doctor to basically say, “I’m thinking about just scheduling when they can get us in at the end of January. Can I assume that since I didn’t hear anything the test was normal?”

Within a couple hours, the ARNP that originally sent us for the test had tracked me down on my cell phone and was giving me the news. Later, she sent me the report. He would need an apnea machine at night.

Jordan has a mild-moderate sleep apnea. During regular sleep, the average child stops breathing 1.2 times per hour. Jordan stopped an average of 10 times/hr, and it was even worse when he was on his back – it jumped to about 20 times/hr (!).

His average oxygen saturation was 97%, with the lowest being 76% (!) during an obstructive apnea episode. During regular sleep, Jordan desatted 5.8x/hr, in REM sleep it jumped to 17/hr.

In measuring his carbon dioxide levels in his exhaled breath they were able to tell that he wasn’t breathing deeply enough to provide adequate exchange of oxygen. They called this “significant hypoventilation”.

The good news was that the EEG monitors on his head showed normal brain activity!

One of the recommendations was to evaluate him for removal of adenoids and tonsils. Why doesn’t anyone read his chart to learn this was done 9 years ago?!!!

After all that, the homecare company ‘never received’ the FAX for services and the whole process for getting the machine was delayed another week.

Ahh, the joys of parenthood! 😉

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Wall Heater
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 05:43:06

    stuffed animals are very cute and lovely, i bet that most kids and even women loves them .”;

    Reply

Leave a Reply

