Dolly Day!

Bekah began asking for me to get my dolls down weeks ago. I finally told her on Monday that I’d get them down on Friday. Immediately, she went to the dolphin calendar hanging on her wall and circled Friday’s date. Ever since then, she’s been crossing days off in anticipation of Dolly Day.
The day finally arrived and I scaled the garage wall to grab down the highest box with dolls much older than I contained therein.
We brought the box in and lifted the lid as the smells of aged memories wafted out. Then the tender examining began. She loves this box. I love that she loves it. There are dolls from the 1800s in there and doesn’t get to play with them often. The dolls belonged to my grandmother and her mother before her.
Bekah is looking forward to her weekend with the dolls – they’ll go back up on Sunday.

The "sock doll" is the first to come out and be loved on

The "sock doll" is the first to come out and be loved on

The box of wonderful treasures

The box of wonderful treasures

All the dolls, spread out in a fan, being inspected

All the dolls, spread out in a fan, being inspected

Leave a Reply

